Jusletter IT

21 December 2020

60 years Erich Schweighofer – International Trends in Legal Informatics

Dear Readers

On February 27, 2020, we had the pleasure of presenting Erich Schweighofer with the Festschrift "International Trends in Legal Informatics" during his "IRIS - International Legal Informatics Symposium" in Salzburg. 

Erich Schweighofer is one of the key figures of legal informatics in Europe and worldwide. 

The title "International Trends in Legal Informatics" was chosen to honor his rich output as a university lecturer, editor of scholarly anthologies, and, above all, as a scholar and author at the interface of law and informatics.

In good Schweighoferian tradition, both German-language and English-language contributions are combined in the Festschrift. Like the work of Erich Schweighofer, the contributions in this volume show an enormously wide range of content. This ranges from Good Old Fashioned AI and Law, legal information and legal language to the regulation of technology, copyright law, data protection law and international law.

For a fuller appreciation of the honoree here, please see the Preface in this issue. The entire issue/festschrift is freely available here.

I would like to thank Erich Schweighofer, among others, for his many years of faithful support of the journal "Jusletter IT - die Zeitschrift für IT und Recht" as co-editor and, in particular, my colleagues Walter Hötzendorfer and Christoph Tschohl for their great commitment as co-editors of the Festschrift for Erich. What would a "liber amicorum" be without the friends who have invested time and spirit in the appreciation and work of the jubilarian? Many thanks to all of you for your great commitment! 
I would like to express my sincere thanks to the publishing team for their prudent and careful supervision of the publications.

Today, we are publishing the Festschrift digitally, but it is also available for purchase as a book. On the book page you will find more information about the book, the jubilarian, the authors and editors.

We are very much looking forward to further exciting years of scientific discourse with Erich Schweighofer - ad multos annos.

For the editors:

Franz Kummer

    Preface

  • Articles

Jusletter IT

21. Dezember 2020

60 Jahre Erich Schweighofer – International Trends in Legal Informatics

Liebe Leserinnen und Leser

Am 27. Februar 2020 durften wir Erich Schweighofer im Rahmen seines «IRIS – Internationales Rechtsinformatik-Symposions» in Salzburg die ihm gewidmete Festschrift «International Trends in Legal Informatics» überreichen. 

Erich Schweighofer ist eine der zentralen Persönlichkeiten der Rechtsinformatik in Europa und weltweit. 

Der Titel «International Trends in Legal Informatics» wurde gewählt, um sein reichhaltiges Schaffen als Hochschullehrer, Herausgeber wissenschaftlicher Sammelwerke und vor allem als Wissenschaftler und Autor an der Schnittstelle von Recht und Informatik zu würdigen.

In guter Schweighofer’scher Tradition sind sowohl deutschsprachige als auch englischsprachige Beiträge in der Festschrift vereint. Wie das Schaffen von Erich Schweighofer weisen auch die Beiträge in diesem Band eine enorm grosse inhaltliche Bandbreite auf. Diese reicht von Good Old Fashioned AI and Law, Rechtsinformation und Rechtssprache bis hin zur Regulierung von Technik, zum Urheberrecht, Datenschutzrecht und Völkerrecht.

Für eine umfassendere Würdigung des hier Geehrten wird auf das Vorwort in dieser Ausgabe verwiesen. Die gesamte Ausgabe/Festschrift ist hier frei verfügbar.

Ich danke Erich Schweighofer u.a. für die jahrelange treue Unterstützung der vorliegenden Zeitschrift «Jusletter IT – die Zeitschrift für IT und Recht» als Mit-Herausgeber und im Speziellen meinen Kollegen Walter Hötzendorfer und Christoph Tschohl für ihren grossen Einsatz als Mit-Herausgeber der Festschrift für Erich. Was wäre ein «liber amicorum» ohne die Freundinnen und Freunde, die Zeit und Geist in die Würdigung und das Schaffen des Jubilars investiert haben? Herzlichen Dank an die Zugewandten für ihren grossen Einsatz! 

Beim Verlagsteam bedanke ich mich herzlich für die umsichtige und sorgfältige Begleitung der Publikationen.

Die Festschrift veröffentlichen wir heute digital, sie kann aber gerne auch als Buch erworben werden. Auf der Buchseite finden Sie weitere Informationen zum Buch, dem Jubilar, den Autor*innen und Herausgebern.

Wir freuen uns sehr auf weitere spannende Jahre im wissenschaftlichen Diskurs mit Erich Schweighofer – ad multos annos.

Für die Herausgeber:

Franz Kummer

    Vorwort

  • Beiträge