Dear readers

This issue highlights different perspectives on the digitization of the financial sector and the associated regulatory security measures. Thomas Hrdinka analyzes the security risks and limitations of blockchain-based currencies using Bitcoin as an example and concludes that it is only a matter of time before crypto currencies are legally regulated. The key is to determine which measures are necessary and sensible without restricting anonymous payment transactions. As part of his research, Maximilan Schwarzenberger stresses the need for regulatory measures to promote FinTechs in general. The article shows previous approaches in Switzerland and proposes specific targeted measures to promote innovation in an international comparison. In Manuel Stutz's view, Switzerland's good positioning in the regulation of FinTechs is not enough. Rather, he proposes an overall adaptation of the legal framework and as transition he suggests self-regulation of the FinTech market. Does Facebook's new Libra coin herald a new era in digital currencies? Lee Bacon and George Bazinas address the potential of digital currencies facilitating cheaper and faster cross-border money transfers and transforming the traditional financial services and payments industry.

In the Austrian project «Blockchain Grid» renewable energy communities (RECs) are realized based on a blockchain. In connection with this project Stephan Cejka et al. are concerned with the challenges of data protection.

The focus of the lecture on LegalTech at the University of St. Gallen in autumn 2018 was on automated support for lawyers. In this context, Benjamin Camavdic deals with the term «predictive policing» and its areas of application. David Koelliker presents a software solution for automated legal advice.

In the context of «ICAIL 2019 MWAIL Multilingual Workshop on AI & Law / JURIX 2018 Workshop on Legal Data Analysis» Aline Macohin and Cesar Antonio Serbena model and simulate the decision-making and voting behavior of judges in proceedings before collegial courts. Enrico Francesconi introduces a framework for the representation and reasoning on legal provisions, norms and facts in OWL 2, a language for the Semantic Web.

We hope you enjoy reading this issue!

Editor, ao. Univ.-Professor Vienna, AT
Franz Kummer
Editor, Co-owner Weblaw AG Bern, CH

    FinTech and RegTech




  • Data Protection

  • LegalTech


  • Legal Informatics

    News

Liebe Leserinnen und Leser

Die Digitalisierung des Finanzsektors und die damit verbundenen regulatorischen Sicherheitsmassnahmen werden in dieser Ausgabe aus verschiedenen Perspektiven beleuchtet. So analysiert Thomas Hrdinka die sicherheitstechnischen Risiken und Einschränkungen von Blockchain-basierten Währungen am Beispiel von Bitcoin und folgert daraus, dass es lediglich eine Frage der Zeit ist, bis Kryptowährungen gesetzlich reguliert werden. Dabei gilt es abzuschätzen, welche Massnahmen notwendig und sinnvoll sind, ohne den anonymen Zahlungsverkehr einzuschränken. Auch Maximilan Schwarzenberger betont im Rahmen seiner Forschungsarbeit die Notwendigkeit von regulatorischen Massnahmen, um FinTechs im Allgemeinen zu fördern. Der Beitrag zeigt die bisherigen Ansätze in der Schweiz auf und schlägt weitere gezielte Massnahmen zur Innovationsförderung im internationalen Vergleich vor. Die gute Positionierung der Schweiz bei der Regulierung von FinTechs genügt aus Sicht von Manuel Stutz noch nicht. Vielmehr soll eine gesamtheitliche Anpassung des Rechtsrahmens und als Übergangslösung eine Selbstregulierung des FinTech-Marktes angestrebt werden. Läutet die angekündigte Facebook-Währung Libra eine neue Ära der digitalen Währungen ein? Lee Bacon und George Bazinas beschäftigen sich mit dem Potenzial der digitalen Währungen, die billigere und schnellere grenzüberschreitende Geldtransfers ermöglichen und die die traditionellen Finanzdienstleistungen und die Zahlungsindustrie verändern.

Im österreichischen Projekt «Blockchain Grid» werden Erneuerbare-Energie-Gemeinschaften (EEG) auf einer Blockchain basierend realisiert. Zu diesem Projekt befassen sich Stephan Cejka et al. mit den Herausforderungen in Bezug auf den Datenschutz.

Automatisierte Unterstützung von Juristinnen und Juristen stand im Fokus der LegalTech-Vorlesung an der Universität St. Gallen im Herbst 2018. In diesem Rahmen befasst sich Benjamin Camavdic mit dem Begriff «Predictive Policing» und dessen Einsatzbereichen. David Koelliker präsentiert eine Softwarelösung zur automatisierten Rechtsberatung.

Im Rahmen vom «ICAIL 2019 MWAIL Multilingual Workshop on AI & Law / JURIX 2018 Workshop on Legal Data Analysis» modellieren und simulieren Aline Macohin und Cesar Antonio Serbena die Entscheidungsfindung und das Abstimmungsverhalten von RichterInnen in Verfahren vor Kollegialgerichten. Enrico Francesconi führt ein Framework für die Repräsentation von juristischen Fakten und juristischer Argumentation in OWL 2, einer Sprache für das Sematic Web, ein.

Wir wünschen Ihnen viel Freude beim Lesen dieser Ausgabe!

Herausgeber, ao. Univ.-Professor Wien, AT
Franz Kummer
Herausgeber, Mitinhaber Weblaw AG Bern, CH

    FinTech und RegTech




  • Datenschutz

  • LegalTech


  • Rechtsinformatik


  • News